RxPG News XML Feed for RxPG News   Add RxPG News Headlines to My Yahoo!  

Medical Research Health Special Topics World
 Latest Research 
 Clinical Trials
 Infectious Diseases
 Public Health
 Alternative Medicine
 Sports Medicine
 Medical News 
 Awards & Prizes
 Special Topics 
 Odd Medical News
  Weekly Blitz
 Reservation Issue
 Overseas Indian Doctor

Last Updated: May 20, 2007 - 10:48:48 AM
News Report
Bangladesh Channel

subscribe to Bangladesh newsletter

   EMAIL   |   PRINT
India lose early wicket after winning toss
May 18, 2007 - 9:46:25 AM
Reserve umpire: Jahangir Alam -

Article options
 Email to a Friend
 Printer friendly version
 Bangladesh channel RSS
 More Bangladesh news
[RxPG] Chittagong, May 18 - India lost the wicket of Wasim Jaffer on the very first ball after captain Rahul Dravid won the toss in the first Test against Bangladesh here Friday.

Pacer Mashrafe Mortaza clean bowled him at the Bir Shrestha Shahid Ruhul Amin Stadium.

India left out pacer Munaf Patel, apparently due to a fitness problem, and included left-arm pacer Rudra Pratap Singh, who was not played in the team's 2-0 One-day International series win. He was, however, asked to stay back for the Test series after pacer Sreesanth had to return home due to a calf injury.

V.V.S. Laxman was also left out, while Sachin Tendulkar, who was ignored for the ODI series, returned to the team for his 136th Test. Yuvraj Singh was named the 12th man.

Bangladesh missed Tushar Imran due to fever and teenaged all-rounder Sakibul Hasan made his debut.

India have played only three Tests so far against Bangladesh and won all of them. The previous match between the two countries was in December 2004.


India: Rahul Dravid -, Wasim Jaffer, Sachin

Tendulkar, Sourav Ganguly, Dinesh Karthick, Mahendra

Singh Dhoni -, Zaheer Khan, Vikram Raj

Vir Singh, Rudra Pratap Singh, Anil Kumble and Ramesh

Powar. 12th man: Yuvraj Singh

Bangladesh: Habibul Bashar -, Mohammad Ashraful -, Javed Omer, Shahriar Nafees, Shakibul Hasan, Rajin Saleh, Khaled Mashud -, Mohammed Rafique, Enamul Haque -, Mashrafe Bin Mortaza and Shahadat Hossain. 12th man: Mehrab Hossain -

Umpires: Daryl Harper - and Billy Doctrove -

TV umpire: Enamul Hoque Moni -

Reserve umpire: Jahangir Alam -

Match referee: Roshan Mahanama -

Related Bangladesh News
Sachin dedicates 36th century to his late father
Tendulkar, Ganguly hit tons as India take firm grip
New Indian cricket coach by June 10: Niranjan Shah
Decision on India coach next month: Niranjan Shah
Bangladesh lacks 'real' secularism, says Indian envoy
Al Qaeda outfit threatens to blow up Bangladesh bridge
Speedster Mortaza underplays his first-ball wicket
Karthik rues playing wrong shot after his 50
Indian batsmen rule on opening day of Test
India dominate first day with four half-centuries

Subscribe to Bangladesh Newsletter
E-mail Address:

For any corrections of factual information, to contact the editors or to send any medical news or health news press releases, use feedback form

Top of Page

© All rights reserved 2004 onwards by RxPG Medical Solutions Private Limited
Contact Us