PSV retain Dutch football league title
Apr 30, 2007 - 4:06:48 PM

Eindhoven -, April 30 - Defending champions PSV Eindhoven thrashed Vitesse Arnhem 5-1 in a thrilling finale to finish on 75 points with a goal advantage over Ajax to retain the Dutch football league title.

PSV took an early 2-0 lead Sunday with Alex and Jefferson Farfan on target in the opening 10 minutes, but Theo Janssen curled a free kick around the wall after 12 minutes to pull one back for Vitesse.

Ibrahim Afellay restored PSV's two-goal cushion just before the hour mark and minutes later Farfan scored his second to make it 4-1. Captain Phillip Cocu struck what proved to be the goal that clinched the title with 13 minutes remaining.

This is the fourth time for PSV to take the league trophy. Ajax Amsterdam, who won 2-0 against Willem II Tilburg, also ended on 75 points but with a goal difference of plus 49 and just missed out on their 30th title.

Urby Emanuelson and Klaas-Jan Huntelaar struck either side of the break to hand Ajax a 2-0 win at Willem II Tilburg. However, they could not add to their score and missed out on the title by a whisker.

AZ Alkmaar, who led the table with one match remaining and just needed a win, finished with 10 men in a 3-2 defeat against Excelsior Rotterdam.

Alkmaar, who led the standings with a seven-goal advantage on goal difference, suffered a setback after 19 minutes against Excelsior, when Boy Waterman was sent off after conceding a penalty that was converted by Luigi Bruins.

Three minutes later midfielder Simon Cziommer gave Alkmaar some hope with an equaliser but Henrico Drost restored the lead for the home side after 59 minutes.

With 19 minutes left Danny Koevermans levelled the match, but in injury time Johan Voskamp sealed victory for Excelsior who also finished with 10 men after Rene van Dieren was sent off.

All rights reserved by RxPG Medical Solutions Private Limited ( )