India Politics
BSP chief Mayawati sworn in Uttar Pradesh chief minister
May 13, 2007 - 1:32:36 PM

Lucknow, May 13 - Bahujan Samaj Party - chief Mayawati took the oath of office Sunday afternoon as Uttar Pradesh chief minister for the fourth time.

Governor T.V. Rajeshwar administered the oath of office to the Dalit leader at the Raj Bhavan, around half an hour after the earlier notified 1 p.m.

The delay, media sources said, was because she was deliberating on several names to induct in her council of ministers. She is to induct 49 ministers.

The BSP supreme, whose party won a thumping majority in the Uttar Pradesh assembly elections, becomes the 40th chief minister of India's most populous and politically crucial state. She had met the governor Saturday and staked her claim to the top job. Her party had won 206 seats in the 403-member assembly.

She was earlier unanimously elected BSP legislature party leader. She will head the first single-party government in the state after 16 years.

Former chief minister and Samajwadi Party chief Mulayam Singh Yadav was also present among the gathering in the lawns.

All rights reserved by RxPG Medical Solutions Private Limited ( )