Latest Research
Academy of Science-St. Louis announces recipients of Outstanding St. Louis Scientist Awards
Jan 13, 2011 - 5:00:00 AM

ST. LOUIS, JANUARY 12, 2011: The 17th annual Academy of Science-St. Awards dinner, honoring top scientists and engineers from the St. Louis region, will be held at the Chase Park Plaza on April 13, 2011.

The academy's Peter H. Raven Lifetime Award recognizes local scientists with a distinguished career in science, engineering or technology. The 2011 prize goes to Marcus E. Raichle, MD, Professor of Radiology, Neurology, Neurobiology, BioMedical Engineering and Psychology at the Washington University School of Medicine. Dr. Raichle has an exceptional body of leading-edge research work inHuman cognitive neuroscience and neuroimaging.

Dr. Raichle has profoundly influenced biomedical science by discovering and then creatively applying methods of image human brain function. His PET studies in the late 1980's and early 1990's on language, attention and memory were the turning point for the field of human cognitive neuroscience.

Over the past three decades, Raichle and his colleagues have pioneered a revolution in brain science using noninvasive neuroimaging methods to study human brain function. His specific contributions include advances in the methodology of imaging and groundbreaking work in elucidating cognitive aspects of human brain function. The PET experiments of Raichle and his colleagues on the manner in which the brain processes single words is among the most emulated and cited studies in the functional neuroimaging literature. His impact is evident in myriad fields of study, including memory, emotion, personality differences, depression, anxiety and blindness.

The Science Leadership Award honors an individual or organization that has played an important leadership role in the development of science and scientists in the region. This year's honorees are Emerson and Timothy Eberlein, MD, Director of the Siteman Cancer Center at Barnes-Jewish Hospital.

An innovative technology leader, St. Louis-based Emerson has been recognized by FORTUNE as a Global 500 Company and one of the World's Most Admired Companies.

Thanks to strong global technological innovations, such as the modernization of 100 hydroelectric turbine generators in Ukraine; power inverters and plant-wide controls for what will be California's largest photovoltaic facility; climate technologies that preserve globally transported fruit and vegetables; and scroll compressor heating technology is now being used by major heat pump manufacturers in Asia.

Emerson is a global leader in bringing technology and engineering together to provide innovative solutions for customers in industrial, commercial, and consumer markets through its network power, process management, industrial automation, climate technologies, and appliance and tools businesses. With more than 500 new products per year, Emerson just ended 2010 with net sales of $21 billion.

Timothy Eberlein, MD is the Bixby Professor and Chairman of the Department of Surgery at Washington University School of Medicine. He also serves as the Olin Distinguished Professor and Director of the Alvin J. Siteman Cancer Center at Barnes-Jewish Hospital and Washington University Medical Center. Dr. Eberlein serves as the Surgeon-in-Chief at Barnes-Jewish Hospital.

Dr. Eberlein was the founding Director of the Siteman Cancer Center, a NCI Comprehensive Cancer Center and member of the National Comprehensive Cancer Network. Under his leadership, the Center has become one of the largest clinical cancer centers in the country with integrated research programs involving all Departments of the School of Medicine, as well as the Schools of Engineering, Social Work and Arts and Sciences. The Center treats more than 40,000 cancer patients each year and just received a $23 million research grant from the NCI.

Eberlein has held a series of national leadership positions, currently serves as editor-in-chief of the Journal of the American College of Surgeons and is President-Elect of the American Surgical Association.

The James B. Eads Award for outstanding achievement in technology or engineering will be presented to Alexander Rubin, PhD, Senior Technical Fellow, Boeing Research and Technology, The Boeing Company, and Ettigounder (Samy) Ponnusamy, PhD, Principal Scientist, Sigma-Aldrich.

All rights reserved by RxPG Medical Solutions Private Limited ( )