India Sports
Zonal Twenty20 cricket matches begin Tuesday
Apr 2, 2007 - 7:24:55 PM

Kolkata, April 2 - The Board of Control for Cricket in India - is slowly regrouping players for the Twenty20 World Championships with the zonal rounds beginning here Tuesday with a Jharkhand-Orissa tie.

The East zone round will feature Jharkhand, Orissa, Bihar, Assam and Bengal.

Two top teams of each zone will play the final leg to select the domestic Twenty20 winners and in the process the core team for the World Championships will be selected.

The tournament gets underway from Sep 11 in South Africa with India playing the first match against Scotland in Durban Sep 13.

While Bengal will field a full strength team, sans Sourav Ganguly, Jharkhand has in their ranks the ebullient Mahendra Singh Dhoni.

There would be two matches every day. The second match Tuesday will be played between Assam and Bengal.

On April 4, Tripura take on Assam and Bengal play Jharkhand while on April 5 Orissa and Tripura, and Assam and Jharkhand will lock horns.

On April 7, Jharkhand play Tripura and Bengal play Orissa.

Finally, April 8, Assam and Bengal vie for honours against Orissa and Tripura respectively.

The matches will be on a league-cum-knockout basis.

All rights reserved by RxPG Medical Solutions Private Limited ( )