RxPG News XML Feed for RxPG News   Add RxPG News Headlines to My Yahoo!  

Medical Research Health Special Topics World
 Latest Research 
 Clinical Trials
 Infectious Diseases
 Public Health
 Alternative Medicine
 Sports Medicine
 Medical News 
 Awards & Prizes
 Special Topics 
 Odd Medical News
  India Business
  India Culture
  India Diaspora
  India Education
  India Entertainment
  India Features
  India Lifestyle
  India Politics
  India Sci-Tech
  India Sports
  India Travel
 Reservation Issue
 Overseas Indian Doctor

Last Updated: May 15, 2007 - 2:05:15 AM
India Channel

subscribe to India newsletter

   EMAIL   |   PRINT
KCR's record win in Karimnagar, Congress wrests Bobbili
Dec 7, 2006 - 11:21:32 PM , Reviewed by: Priya Saxena
The win in Bobbili will take Congress' tally of Lok Sabha seats in the state to 30 out of total 42 in the state.

Article options
 Email to a Friend
 Printer friendly version
 India channel RSS
 More India news
[RxPG] Hyderabad, Dec 7 - The movement for separate statehood for Andhra Pradesh's Telangana region Thursday received a boost with Telangana Rashtra Samiti - president K. Chandrasekhar Rao winning the Karimnagar Lok Sabha by-election with a record margin of over 200,000 votes.

In a contrasting result in the Bobbili Lok Sabha constituency, the by-election for which was also held Monday, the ruling Congress party wrested the seat from the main opposition Telugu Desam Party - by a meagre 157 votes.

Riding on a Telangana wave, former union minister Chandrasekhara Rao, popularly known as KCR, was re-elected with a winning margin of 201,582 votes from Karimnagar in the backward Telangana region defeating T. Jeevan Reddy of the Congress. The margin is the biggest ever in Karimnagar.

Out of 793,932 total votes polled, KCR secured 378,030 votes while Jeevan Reddy, a member of the state assembly, got 176,448. L. Ramana of TDP finished third with 170,268 votes while former union minister Ch. Vidyasagar Rao of the Bharatiya Janata Party -, who was elected in 1998 and 1999 elections and was runner-up in the 2004 polls, finished a poor fourth with 21,144 votes and lost his deposit.

In the bitterly fought by-election Monday, about 57 percent of 1.4 million voters had cast their votes.

The result comes as a big jolt to the Congress as its leaders had challenged the TRS chief to resign and face the people after the party pulled out of the Congress-led United Progressive Alliance - government in New Delhi to protest the delay in carving out a separate Telangana state.

The by-poll was being seen as a referendum on the Telangana agitation and the Congress was confident of wresting the seat from the TRS. Several top leaders, including national general secretary Digvijay Singh and Chief Minister Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy had campaigned in the by-elections.

TRS had won five Lok Sabha and 26 assembly seats in the region in 2004 in alliance with the Congress. KCR had then won the Karimnagar seat with a margin of 131,168 votes. The voter turnout then was 65 percent.

The party joined Congress-led coalition governments both in the state and at the centre but pulled out of the state government in July last year to press for its demand for separate Telangana. After setting many deadlines, KCR and his party colleague A. Narendra resigned as central ministers in August this year.

In the Bobbili constituency in north coastal Andhra, the ruling party managed to scrape through with a slender margin of 157 votes but the TDP refused to accept the result and demanded a recount.

Congress candidate Botsa Jhansi, wife of Marketing Minister Botsa Satyanarayana, defeated TDP's K. Appala Naidu. Out of 703,400 votes polled, Jhansi, a runner- up in 2004 polls, secured 334,321 votes while Appala Naidu got 334,164. The BJP finished third with 14,837 votes.

Tension prevailed at the counting centre in Vijyanagaram as TDP workers, demanding recounting of votes, clashed with the police and Congress workers.

About 72 percent of nearly a million voters had cast their votes in the by-poll. The seat fell vacant due to the death of Appala Naidu's father and TDP's sitting member Pydithali Naidu recently.

Alleging that the returning officer had resorted to malpractices, the TDP workers took to the streets and blocked traffic near the counting centre.

In Hyderabad, TDP president N. Chandrababu Naidu demanded recounting of votes in every electronic voting machine.

In 2004, Appala Naidu's father Pydithalli Naidu of TDP had defeated Jhansi by 31,348 votes. The voter turnout then was 76.54 percent.

The win in Bobbili will take Congress' tally of Lok Sabha seats in the state to 30 out of total 42 in the state.

In the 2004 polls, the Congress had bagged 29 seats, while its then ally TRS got five seats and Communist Party of India - and Communist Party of India Marxist - one seat each. The TDP could secure only five seats while one seat to Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen -.

Publication: RxPG News
On the web: www.rxpgnews.com 

Related India News
Apex court approves stringent anti-ragging measures
Podbharti.com, music to the ears of Hindi web community
Probe into official connivance in Munnar encroachments
DMK's Radhika Selvi: from gangster's widow to minister
Assam seeks 4,000 troopers as attacks cause panic
Take 'serious note' of BJP's communal designs, Sonia asks government
BJP MPs get Lok Sabha adjourned over Sethusamudram project
Gender and sexuality film festival touches a gamut of issues
Two militants killed in Kashmir
Now Budhia to walk from Bhubaneswar to Kolkata

Subscribe to India Newsletter
E-mail Address:

For any corrections of factual information, to contact the editors or to send any medical news or health news press releases, use feedback form

Top of Page

© All rights reserved 2004 onwards by RxPG Medical Solutions Private Limited
Contact Us