RxPG News XML Feed for RxPG News   Add RxPG News Headlines to My Yahoo!  

Medical Research Health Special Topics World
 Latest Research 
 Clinical Trials
 Infectious Diseases
 Public Health
 Alternative Medicine
 Sports Medicine
 Medical News 
 Awards & Prizes
 Special Topics 
 Odd Medical News
  India Business
  India Culture
  India Diaspora
  India Education
  India Entertainment
  India Features
  India Lifestyle
  India Politics
  India Sci-Tech
  India Sports
   Bob Woolmer
  India Travel
 Reservation Issue
 Overseas Indian Doctor

Last Updated: May 17, 2007 - 8:46:52 AM
News Report
India Sports Channel

subscribe to India Sports newsletter
India Sports

   EMAIL   |   PRINT
Bhutia voted 'Player of the Year'
Apr 2, 2007 - 2:33:58 PM
Mahindra United, who had a superb run last season by winning the national league and the Federation Cup, was voted the 'Team of the Year'.

Article options
 Email to a Friend
 Printer friendly version
 India Sports channel RSS
 More India Sports news
[RxPG] New Delhi, April 2 - Star Mohun Bagan striker Bhaichung Bhutia has been voted 'Player of the Year 2007' for the second time in a poll conducted by a football website.

Bhutia, who last won the award in 2004, bagged 35.4 percent of the votes while Mahindra United forward Mahesh Gawli was second with 23.3 percent votes in the poll conducted by IndiaFootball.com.

Bhutia's teammate Mehtab Hussain was third with 7.9 percent.

Young East Bengal forward Vimal Pariyar pipped Mohun Bagan's Sushil Kumar Singh for the 'Rookie of the Year' award. It was a close contest between Pariyar, who polled 25.7 percent votes, and Singh, who got 23.3 percent.

Robert Lalthalma of the Tata Football Academy came third -.

Mohun Bagan's Brazilian playmaker Jose Ramirez Barretto won the 'Foreign Player of the Year' prize with 46.7 percent of votes while his teammate and compatriot Eduardo Coelho finished third with 12.3 percent votes. Dempo's Nigerian striker Ranty Martins was second -.

Derek Pereira, who guided Mahindra United to their national league title last season, was voted 'Coach of the Year' -. Former Mohun Bagan coach Biswajit Bhattacharya was second with 20.9 percent votes.

Belgian Philippe de Ridder, who had a short stint with East Bengal last season, took the third slot -.

Mahindra United, who had a superb run last season by winning the national league and the Federation Cup, was voted the 'Team of the Year'.

French World Cupper Vikash Dhorasoo bagged the 'Player of Indian Origin of the Year' award and Brazilian international Ronaldinho clinched the 'Global Player of the Year' award.

Related India Sports News
Tibetans to have their own Olympics
Randhawa wins DLF Masters, Kapur finishes second
Army organises run ahead of military games
Met office offers weather tips to Indian cricket team
Argentina beat Pakistan, finish 5th in Azlan Shah hockey
Kashmir has world-class soccer potential: Brazilian coach
Randhawa in lead in DLF Masters golf
Will we be ready for Commonwealth Games, wonders parliament panel
Ranjit Singh takes lead at DLF Masters golf
India to have comprehensive sports policy soon

Subscribe to India Sports Newsletter
E-mail Address:

For any corrections of factual information, to contact the editors or to send any medical news or health news press releases, use feedback form

Top of Page

© All rights reserved 2004 onwards by RxPG Medical Solutions Private Limited
Contact Us