RxPG News XML Feed for RxPG News   Add RxPG News Headlines to My Yahoo!  

Medical Research Health Special Topics World
 Latest Research 
 Clinical Trials
 Infectious Diseases
 Public Health
 Alternative Medicine
 Sports Medicine
 Medical News 
 Awards & Prizes
 Special Topics 
 Odd Medical News
  India Business
  India Culture
  India Diaspora
  India Education
  India Entertainment
  India Features
  India Lifestyle
  India Politics
  India Sci-Tech
  India Sports
   Bob Woolmer
  India Travel
 Reservation Issue
 Overseas Indian Doctor

Last Updated: May 20, 2007 - 10:48:48 AM
News Report
India Sports Channel

subscribe to India Sports newsletter
India Sports

   EMAIL   |   PRINT
ODI squad: Sachin, Ganguly axed, Sehwag retained
Apr 20, 2007 - 7:43:30 PM
May 18-22: 1st Test, Bir Shrestha Shahid Ruhul Amin Stadium, Chittagong

Article options
 Email to a Friend
 Printer friendly version
 India Sports channel RSS
 More India Sports news
[RxPG] Mumbai, April 20 - Sachin Tendulkar and Sourav Ganguly were Friday axed while Virender Sehwag was retained in the 15-member Indian one-day squad for the Bangladesh tour.

Tendulkar and Ganguly were, however, selected for the two-match Test series while Sehwag was dropped, Indian cricket board secretary Niranjan Shah announced here after a meeting of selection committee.

Promising Bengal batsman Manoj Tiwary was selected for the three-match ODI series, while Gautam Gambhir, Dinesh Mongia, Rudra Pratap Singh, Piyush Chawla and Ramesh Powar staged a comeback.

Besides Tendulkar and Ganguly, the others who were dropped from the World Cup squad were Ajit Agarkar, Harbhajan Singh and Irfan Pathan while Anil Kumble has announced retirement from ODIs.

Sehwag was ironically dropped for the Test matches, in which he had performed better than One-day Internationals. Agarkar, Harbhajan and Pathan were also ignored while off-spinner Ramesh Powar, left-arm spinner Ramesh Pawar and pacer Vikram Raj Vir Singh were picked.

The Rahul Dravid-led Indian team will play two Tests and three One-day Internationals starting with the first ODI in Mirpur May 10.

No vice-captain was announced for the tour.

This is India's first series since crashing out of the first round in the World Cup in the West Indies. The team lost two of the three matches to make an inglorious exit from the tournament.

Despite the debacle, Dravid was retained captain April 7. The same day the working committee of the board had asked the selection committee to pick a predominantly young team for the Bangladesh tour.

ODI squad: Rahul Dravid -, Gautam Gambhir, Robin Uthappa, Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh, Mahendra Singh Dhoni -, Dinesh Kaarthick, Manoj Tiwari, Sreesanth, Munaf Patel, Zaheer Khan, Rudra Pratap Singh, Piyush Chawla, Ramesh Powar and Dinesh Mongia

Test squad: Rahul Dravid -, Wasim Jaffer, Sachin Tendulkar, V.V.S. Laxman, Mahendra Singh Dhoni -, Sourav Ganguly, Yuvraj Singh, Dinesh Kaarthick, Sreesanth, Zaheer Khan, Vikram Raj Vir Singh, Munaf Patel, Anil Kumble, Ramesh Powar and Rajesh Pawar


May 10: 1st ODI, Shere Bangla National Stadium, Mirpur

May 12: 2nd ODI, Shere Bangla National Stadium, Mirpur

May 15: 3rd ODI, Bir Shrestha Shahid Ruhul Amin Stadium, Chittagong

May 18-22: 1st Test, Bir Shrestha Shahid Ruhul Amin Stadium, Chittagong

May 25-29: 2nd Test, Shere Bangla National Stadium, Mirpur

Related India Sports News
Tibetans to have their own Olympics
Randhawa wins DLF Masters, Kapur finishes second
Army organises run ahead of military games
Met office offers weather tips to Indian cricket team
Argentina beat Pakistan, finish 5th in Azlan Shah hockey
Kashmir has world-class soccer potential: Brazilian coach
Randhawa in lead in DLF Masters golf
Will we be ready for Commonwealth Games, wonders parliament panel
Ranjit Singh takes lead at DLF Masters golf
India to have comprehensive sports policy soon

Subscribe to India Sports Newsletter
E-mail Address:

For any corrections of factual information, to contact the editors or to send any medical news or health news press releases, use feedback form

Top of Page

© All rights reserved 2004 onwards by RxPG Medical Solutions Private Limited
Contact Us