RxPG News XML Feed for RxPG News   Add RxPG News Headlines to My Yahoo!  

Medical Research Health Special Topics World
 Latest Research 
 Clinical Trials
 Infectious Diseases
 Public Health
 Alternative Medicine
 Sports Medicine
 Medical News 
 Awards & Prizes
 Special Topics 
 Odd Medical News
  India Business
  India Culture
  India Diaspora
  India Education
  India Entertainment
  India Features
  India Lifestyle
  India Politics
  India Sci-Tech
  India Sports
   Bob Woolmer
  India Travel
 Reservation Issue
 Overseas Indian Doctor

Last Updated: May 17, 2007 - 8:46:52 AM
News Report
India Sports Channel

subscribe to India Sports newsletter
India Sports

   EMAIL   |   PRINT
Zonal Twenty20 cricket matches begin Tuesday
Apr 2, 2007 - 7:24:55 PM
Finally, April 8, Assam and Bengal vie for honours against Orissa and Tripura respectively.

Article options
 Email to a Friend
 Printer friendly version
 India Sports channel RSS
 More India Sports news
[RxPG] Kolkata, April 2 - The Board of Control for Cricket in India - is slowly regrouping players for the Twenty20 World Championships with the zonal rounds beginning here Tuesday with a Jharkhand-Orissa tie.

The East zone round will feature Jharkhand, Orissa, Bihar, Assam and Bengal.

Two top teams of each zone will play the final leg to select the domestic Twenty20 winners and in the process the core team for the World Championships will be selected.

The tournament gets underway from Sep 11 in South Africa with India playing the first match against Scotland in Durban Sep 13.

While Bengal will field a full strength team, sans Sourav Ganguly, Jharkhand has in their ranks the ebullient Mahendra Singh Dhoni.

There would be two matches every day. The second match Tuesday will be played between Assam and Bengal.

On April 4, Tripura take on Assam and Bengal play Jharkhand while on April 5 Orissa and Tripura, and Assam and Jharkhand will lock horns.

On April 7, Jharkhand play Tripura and Bengal play Orissa.

Finally, April 8, Assam and Bengal vie for honours against Orissa and Tripura respectively.

The matches will be on a league-cum-knockout basis.

Related India Sports News
Tibetans to have their own Olympics
Randhawa wins DLF Masters, Kapur finishes second
Army organises run ahead of military games
Met office offers weather tips to Indian cricket team
Argentina beat Pakistan, finish 5th in Azlan Shah hockey
Kashmir has world-class soccer potential: Brazilian coach
Randhawa in lead in DLF Masters golf
Will we be ready for Commonwealth Games, wonders parliament panel
Ranjit Singh takes lead at DLF Masters golf
India to have comprehensive sports policy soon

Subscribe to India Sports Newsletter
E-mail Address:

For any corrections of factual information, to contact the editors or to send any medical news or health news press releases, use feedback form

Top of Page

© All rights reserved 2004 onwards by RxPG Medical Solutions Private Limited
Contact Us